+48 22 5128 100  

Szachowa 1,
04-894 Warszawa



Special Session on “Nanophotonics and smart optical nanostructures” (NSON)

Cartagena, Spain, June 23-27, 2013

Smart optical materials and structures are the cornerstone of the scientific and technological building where photonics and material science smartly cooperate to develop new physics, new devices, and new applications. Smart materials are used to construct smart structures, which can perform both sensing and actuation functions. Integrated optics and optical fibers have always played a key role in the development of smart structures, but the nanotechnologies, with their increasing capability to manage the matter at the atomic, molecular and mesoscopic level, are offering novel tools and approaches. The idea of this session is to provide an interdisciplinary update and review of innovation in photonic material, as well as experimental and theoretical tools to support the above-mentioned novelties. The session includes topics characterized by an insight into interactions of light with the optical materials and of particular interest in fundamental principles, modelling, fabrication technologies, characterization techniques, metamaterials, novel confined structures such as microcavities and nano-microstructures, glass-ceramics, terahertz photonic, and plasmonics, with the aim of underlining all the possible convergences and interaction among these.

Session Co-Chairs:

Andrea Blanco Redondo (TECNALIA, Parque Tecnológico de Bizkaia, Zamudio, Spain)
Maurizio Ferrari (IFN-CNR and FBK, Trento, Italy)
Giancarlo C. Righini (CNR-IFAC, Firenze and Centro Fermi, Roma, Italy)

Technical Programme Committee:

John Ballato (Clemson University, South Carolina, USA)
Trevor Benson (University of Nottingham, United Kingdom)
Sonia García-Blanco (University of Twente, The Netherlands)
Rainer Hillenbrand (CIC Nanogune, San Sebastian, Spain)
Mile Ivanda (Rudjer Boskovic Institute, Zagreb, Croatia)
Brana Jelenkovic (Photonics Center, Institute of Physics, University of Belgrade, Serbia)
Nigel Johnson (University of Glasgow, United Kingdom)
Safa Kasap (University of Saskatchewan, Canada)
Tran Ngoc Khiem (ITIMS, Hanoi University of Technology, Vietnam)
Pierre Lucas (University of Arizona, Tucson, USA)
Marian Marciniak (National Institute of Telecommunications, Warsaw, Poland)
Michel Mortier (CNRS-ENSCP, Paris, France)
Pascual Muñoz (Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, CEO VLC Photonics, Spain)
Roberta Ramponi (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
Bouchta Sahraoui (University of Angers, France)
Tomasz Szoplik (Warsaw University, Poland)