+48 22 5128 100  

Szachowa 1,
04-894 Warszawa

Written by Paweł Woźniak

Ortwin Hess
The Blackett Laboratory, Department of Physics, Imperial College London, UK
Ultraslow Waves and Photonic Quantum Dynamics on the Nanoscale

Ortwin HessProfessor Ortwin Hess currently holds the Leverhulme Chair in Metamaterials in the Blackett Laboratory (Department of Physics) at Imperial College London and is Co-Director of the Centre for Plasmonics and Metamaterials. He obtained the PhD degree from the Technical University of Berlin (Germany) in 1993 and the Habilitation at the University of Stuttgart (Germany) in 1997. From 2003 to 2010 he was full professor at the University of Surrey (Guildford, UK). Hess was visiting professor at Stanford University, (CA/USA; 1997/98), at the Ludwig-Maximilians University of Munich/Germany (1999/2000) and at the Friedrich-Schiller University Jena/Germany (2012). Hess is a Fellow of the Institute of Physics (FInstP) and a Fellow of the Optical Society (FOSA). Professor Hess’s research interests bridge quantum nanophotonics with laser science and (meta-) materials physics. He discovered the ‘trapped-rainbow’ principle, had the idea of stopped-light lasing and made defining contributions to the fields of spatio-temporal dynamics of semiconductor lasers, ultraslow light in metamaterials, complex quantum dot photonics and photonic crystals and strong coupling in nanoplasmonics. Hess pioneered active nanoplasmonics and optical metamaterials with quantum gain for which he has been awarded the 2016 Royal Society Rumford Medal.

Adrian M. Ionescu
Nanolab, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
The Future of Electronics: Silicon to Cloud Technologies

Adrian M. IonescuAdrian M. Ionescu is a Professor and Director of the Nanoelectronic Devices Laboratory at Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland. He served as Director of the Doctoral Program in Microsystems and Microelectronics of EPFL. His group pioneered new concepts in low power beyond CMOS devices and technologies. He is the recipient of the IBM Faculty Award 2013 and of the André Blondel Medal 2009 of the Society of Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Paris, France. He is an IEEE Fellow and a member of the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SATW). In 2016 he was awarded an Advanced European Research Council Grant to develop energy efficient millivolt transistors and sensors for Internet-of-Things.